Waiting for the Tailwalker

I think we had just about every kind of weather but snow this morning at parkrun.  Looking at my photos afterwards, I could see when the light disappeared  and suddenly those runners' movements were blurred.  Then just after the bulk of runners had finished, the clouds broke and a shaft of light fell across the meadow at the bottom of the park where I was marshaling (is it one 'l' or two?) and picked out the trees.

In the distance is P, who two weeks ago achieved his 50th parkrun and also his 50th parkrun here at Myrtle, quite some achievement.  He was marshalling today with Muffin, making sure the runners went up the hill at the fork in the path, and not downhill.  At this point there was just the final runner and the tailwalker to come by.

After parkrun we drove to Jen and Pete's to pick up our shopping, then dropped the parkrun toolbox in at Bev's as she is Run Director next week, then headed up to the house of C, an ex student from the school where I taught for 35 years.  She had kindly agreed to take charge of the 'Rhodesway Box' which has resided in our shed for several years.  It contains photos and documents from the school before the old building was demolished and the school became an academy.  Sadly, much went in to the skip before pal Jean and I were made aware.  Several ex students responded to my request for a new caretaker of the box and so they are going to hold it 'in committee'.  Its first outing will come next March when a group of the older ex students are having something of a reunion.  I feel a weight has been lifted.  I had scanned most of the material in to the FB page so it was time for it to go.

Back home I cleared the pavement of leaves.  For some reason to do with the prevailing wind, they all collect outside our door!  I also had a go at clearing the drain which is pretty much blocked with mud and worms!  Slippers on and it was time to sit down with a cuppa to process my Parkrun blips before making a lasagne for tea.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.