Hobbs's Run

By hobbs

Nothing but Smoke

A few days ago I blipped the Megalong Valley in smoke. Today I returned to what I thought was exactly the same vantage point to take a smoke comparison shot. Thing is I have no idea if I have lined up a matching view or not ... because I cannot see anything at all of the Megalong. My camera wouldn't even focus until I lowered my view sufficiently to take in some burned out dead vegetation nearby. The extra includes a view within nearby Katoomba from atop the Cultural Centre.

Today there is NO wind at all, which is part of the reason that the smoke is presently so thick. Paradoxically the still conditions are very good news indeed. At last, across the many many fire grounds, hundreds of fire fighting crews can now take the offensive and have launched themselves along fire trails from where backburns can be initiated to establish fuel depriving containment lines. If these still conditions persist for only a few days, much might be done to bring the worst of the fires under control. Time will tell.

Best of all, some rain is predicted for (maybe) Thursday. If we don't choke to death in the meanwhile, things might look much better for everyone come next weekend.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.