Hobbs's Run

By hobbs

Cronulla Wharf

Not many people (who are not Sydneysiders) know that to the north and south of Port Jackson (i.e. Sydney Harbour) are several similar networks of deep water bays and inlets which together comprise one of the best recreational boating precincts in the world. Places such as Brisbane Water, Broken Bay, Pittwater, Hawkesbury River, Botany Bay and Georges River come to mind. Unfortunately in recent times the sheer number of boats which ply these waterways has grown alarmingly with giant marinas spaced (seemingly) no more than a kilometre or two apart along the shoreline.

This particular inlet is known as Gunnamatta Bay, a northerly arm of Port Hacking. Here, at the farthest end of the bay is Cronulla Wharf, where the quaint old Bundeena ferries (foreground & extra) pull in. One can take a trip across to the southern side of Port Hacking, from where one can begin to tackle the great coastal walking tracks leading south. I am trying to get together a small group of photographers to help me tackle an organised multi day excursion down the spectacular Illawarra coastline during 2021. Time will tell how successful I get. It appears that I am fast running out of adventurers, my age, who still boast good ankles, knees, hips and other such useful moving parts.

With your kind indulgence I shall be taking a short break from Blip but plan to be back on deck before Christmas. It is the usual thing. Events are monopolising me to the point that I can't concentrate (as I'd like) on Blip. I shall probably be shooting pictures most days but will back blip them later. Have fun getting ready to make the best Christmas you all can ... given the ever present circumstances. Take care. Stay safe.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.