Aquamarine/Nanna K's Day

By NannaK

The sheep and their shepards

The shepards and these sheep in our Mexican creche are in fairly good shape….this is the way Fiona arranged them.    The nativity came from Mexico City in the car with my aunt and uncle who drove from their home there to Chicago for Christmas in 1950.  I was 10,  and so delighted to unwrap these wonderful figures at 4:00 AM when they arrived!   My Mom always had them on the mantel at Christmas and now the Granddaughters are the ones to unwrap and arrange.    There are a few parts missing from some of the others (an angel wing, Josephs hand, one king's gift....)  .and much gluing has occurred. :-)  


Extras:I did a page for my Mom book  (just 5 pages left to sew!) with the originals from the 50s and my Aunt and Uncle in Mexico city on their roof.  and Fiona from thursday and Tatum from 2 years ago ( Oops I see I spelled mantel wrong…oh well…too late)   . the 2nd extra is how Tatum arranged them 2 years ago here…she might do some tweaking next week when she's over here....   No shortage of traditions here.   :-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.