Checking for danger

Went down the steps to Southend of Snells Beach. As I started down the steps, I could hear the call of a tui in the trees around the stairs. I was able to see it and get a couple of photos against the light. Neither as good as my recent ones. I also heard, but couldn't see, a cuckoo. 

As I usually do, I paused before emerging fully from the trees, and a kotare (Kingfisher) was on the rocks out to the right. Managed a distant shot, and (again as usual) it flew off as I took the first step out from under the branches. Looking back to see if I could locate the cuckoo, I saw two small birds fly fast across my vision. Their flight pattern was different to a sparrow, so I watched where they went.   

The one in my main photo landed on the retaining wall around a storm water outlet, and proceeded to look carefully in every direction (while I stayed still and took a number of photos). It then flew into the depths of the outlet, and shortly after the other (which had paused somewhere else) went in and a few seconds later both flew out and away. I suspect that there is a goldfinch nest in there.

Went out onto the mudflats, which were rapidly being uncovered by the retreating tide. Not as many birds as I had hoped for, but in the distance were a group which looked like the 50+ kuaka (godwits) that are feeding here. I was still a long way off when abruptly they were all into the air and flying away, that action being shown in today's extra.

A quick trip to town (Warkworth) to get fresh bread and salad for lunch with family today. That was a lovely time. Not long after S's cousins left, the sky closed over and a thunderstorm passed by. More accurately, it passed right over the top of the beach house, by the sound of one very long roll of thunder. Both daughters had chosen to leave to drive back to Auckland before the storm, so I hope they had made the main road before the downpour began.

Just over an hour later it is windless, rainless and sunny. Little Barrier Island (Hauturu-o-toi) is still completely enveloped in cloud, however. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.