If you can't beat them...

By Jerra

Stress patterns.

A very wet day and at times blowing a "hooley".  Not a day for looking for outdoor blips, in fact not really IMO a day for going outdoors at all.  I must be getting soft in my old age.

So what to blip.  I have never before tried photographing stress patterns  so decided to have an experiment.  My first idea for something in clear plastic was the lenses on my glasses.  Failure.  Logically the lenses will probably be made with as little stress in them as possible, also the only colour to show was brown.

The next clear plastic to come to hand was one of those flimsy trays some foods are sold in, in this case a "soup mix" of veg.   Much better.  So the blip shows the stress patterns in the corner, formed presumably by heat pressing a sheet of material.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.