Central heating rebellion

This wouldn't be much of a challenge for powerplanter, but it was for me.

Before Christmas the central heating controller developed a fault; it lost all settings whenever there was a power cut. I didn't want to go away for the holiday and find the house frozen because there had been a power interruption, so I replaced the controller. In the event, it didn't matter because the weather was mild.

Then I noticed that suddenly the hot water is too hot. The motorised valve that controls the indirect water circuit to the tank isn't closing fully. I have ordered a replacement power head. That is the only part I can swap myself, otherwise I'll need a plumber.

And finally, the bathroom radiator is staying hot; the thermostatic valve has stuck full on. The photo shows the valve after removing the thermostat top. The pin in the left had to be freed up by moving it in and out (gently). The tricky part was removing the top; there was a plastic clip to remove and it was against the skirting board where I couldn't see or pull it. Eventually it snapped. However it doesn't seem to be essential.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.