Books

I've been a buying books in Leeds this morning.  We have decided not to go mad buying presents this Christmas.  We have agreed with friends that we would rather get together for a catch up and/or a walk.  Tony and I treat ourselves throughout the year so buying things for the sake of it seems a bit daft.

I had a book on order at Waterstones so took the opportunity to get  Christmas storybooks for the two little girls of my old boss when I was still teaching.    My book is Louis Penny's 'A Better Man', the latest in her Inspector Gamache series and if you like a good detective story with a bit of quirkiness and a wonderful location, I highly recommend her.  I've often said I would like to live in Three Pines with its bistro and bookshop and resident artist.

Last week we listened to Robert Harris talking to Graham Norton on his show, about his latest novel.  Tony liked the sound of it and asked me to see if I could find it, which I did!

Finally, our neighbours are expecting a baby next year and I think I've probably mentioned it before, but all new babies are given a copy of the wonderful 'Peace at Last'.  It was first given to our Becky when she was born and became a well thumbed, instant favourite.  I took her, her copy when we visited when Euan was born, and also gave him his own copy..  I read it to him on some of those nights when he was struggling to sleep.  That means we have been giving Peace at Last to new babies for thirty five years!  It has certainly stood the test of time!

It's been a lovely day so I've done a bit of weeding on the rockery; filled the bird feeders; set up the humane mouse trap in the glory box (that mouse is still managing to get in to our birdfood containers!);  been in to the loft to get the Christmas decorations and finished my second Christmas jigsaw.  Hobblers tonight and my Christmas running leggings arrived in the post, but you'll have to wait for a blip of those!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.