Quod oculus meus videt

By GrahamColling

West Coast Main Line - Rugeley

Another glorious day, albeit a little windy thanks to Storm Atiya.  It was certainly worth a walk so I caught the train to the end of the line, Rugeley Trent Valley station, where one of the West Coast Main lInes comes through. In the time it took to disembark, and leave the station, four intercity trains thundered through.  The old Virgin livery is no more, but the new companies colours are still to be added to the trains.  It was a bit like a cricketer's bat without sponsorship, just a plain white exterior to the engines and carriages.

The walk took me along the Trent and Mersey Canal before heading south down Cannock Chase to Hednesford.  A really pleasant walk of about 10 miles.  

And I almost got a photograph of a jay.  I find them the most elusive of birds, typically only noticed as a streak of blue, squaking as it flies off in to the distance.  This one teased me by waiting at the side of the path as I raised the camera to my eye, only to fly off as the shutter was depressed.  As I say, as streak of blue!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.