Quod oculus meus videt

By GrahamColling

A Meadow Pipit?

Whenever I try to use the internet to identify the species of a bird I've photographed I always seem to be left in doubt when comparing the image to the illustrations on various websites.  I think this is a mistle thrush, but am happy to be corrected by those with more knowledge.

I was needed to help the 'ladies' cross the busy road onto the Chase this morning.  It meant more walking than normal (I usually drive up to the crossing point), but I was quite happy to do that once the early rain had passed, in fact the morning got better and better.  There is always plenty of wildlife around, including on this occasion a small herd of fallow deer on some adjacent pasture, but I was quite chuffed to catch this bird enjoying the sunlight on one of the fences that separate the various paddocks on the livery farm.

Walk distance: 3.8 miles   P:2 L:0


Addendum


The original title of the post was a Mistle Thrush, but as ever, helpful advice may have come up with a more likely identification so I've changed the title.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.