Helena Handbasket

By Tivoli

A day in the life

Monday to Friday I am up at 6am for work. Neither hot water nor heating are programmable in my flat so when I awake naturally at 4:30am for a wee I switch on the electric immersion heater.
When the alarm goes off at 6am I boot up the laptop, switch the immersion heater off and make a pot of coffee. I check the weather, select my office clothes for the day and then indulge in a scalding shower because the temperature in the flat is low. The electric radiator was switched off at about 10pm the night before, my two windows are single-glazed, there is a gap between the upper and lower sashes which conveniently allows condensation to fall outside, rather than inside, and I no longer have a duvet of live pigeons in the loft above.
After the hot shower I dress quickly, make my lunch, eat my breakfast and then don head-to-toe hi-vis for my scary bicycle ride to the office, which is warm and cheery. I spend eight hours at my desk creating beautiful drawings of dangerous environments for the benefit of those who work in them, the Environment Agency and the local fire services.
At about 4pm I re-clothe myself in head-to-toe hi-vis and make the scary bicycle-ride back home again.
Once home, I boot-up the laptop to check for urgent e-mails, a generic sample of which is today's screen-grab. I answer anything urgent immediately and then head out to Sainsbury's (which closes at 6pm) to re-stock any missing ingredients. Home again my time is my own. First I will switch on the electric heater and then address the slightly less-urgent emails. After that I might perhaps wipe down the walls which are developing green flock at an astonishing rate, listen to some radio, look at blip, make my evening meal and indulge myself in either reading or doing some handicraft hobby.
The purpose of this blip is not to engender sympathy – far from it! The purpose of this blip is simply on the off-chance that someone I used to know very well continues to check-up on me, in which case he might like to know that there may be a shit-storm brewing.
again

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.