The Pepper Patch

By PepperG

The Zen of Black and White Photography.

Don't ask me why, I don't know.

It's a beautiful little piece of Nippon pottery, part of a tea set that reminds me of me. Getting on in age, well traveled, and a bit cracked. It's a striking yet subtle shade of blue that sets off the delicate white cherry blossoms perfectly. It makes me smile. So why, you ask, did I decide to de-saturate the image and work with it in black and white?

I asked you not to ask. I don't know.

Perhaps I'm just in a cantankerous mood. I am. Perhaps it reminds me of a Japanese pen and ink painting. It does, sort of. Perhaps the colors would have detracted from the composition of the image or the raw beauty of the piece. They would have.

Or perhaps, just perhaps, it's a zen thing and I just like what I see without needing to know why.

Perhaps.

.... and, as I have been known to observe, the adventure continues.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.