Gillsabroad

By gillsabroad

Consequences of neglect.

When I took my festive decorations down on 12th Night I also moved my poinsettia, which was looking a little tired, accidentally leaving it in the spare room, forgotten. I discovered it on Friday looking very sorry for itself, did a little judicious pruning, gave it a good water and left it in the kitchen which is probably a little warmer than everywhere else... when I got home from work tonight it was like a whole new plant! Maybe I should neglect it more often? ;)

It's nice to have a bit of colour at this time of year. Apparently with a little care the coloured bracts can last until Easter or later. I suspect that's a little ambitious... if mine survives until the end of the month I shall consider it an achievement!


The flowers of late winter and early spring occupy places in our hearts well out of proportion to their size.
Gertrude S. Wister

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.