Election Day

I’m posting this picture of some local graffiti because it reminds me of the values I stand for.

I’m not sure that this country has been as divided as it is now, at least within my lifetime, and it saddens me beyond any words that I can write here.

It wasn’t so long ago that the Olympic spirit had the country rallying around the things that the UK should, rightly, feel proud of... the NHS; our immense contribution to global culture through music, literature, fashion, and visual and performing arts; our sense of humour; our technical innovations; our spirit of inclusivity and support for the underdog; our cultural diversity - which has been centuries in the making.

Immigrants to these shores are far from being a new thing. The vast majority of us don’t have to look too far back in our family trees to know that. Most of us have ancestors, recent or more distant, who came here from Africa, Asia and, yes, Europe. And the NHS, our arts and cultural industries, our manufacturing industries, and even our creaky political system would be a poorer place without this diversity.

Our electoral system is far from perfect. When we last had a vote on ditching the ‘first past the post’ system in favour of some form of proportional representation, I voted for change. And I would do so again. But we’re stuck with what we’ve got.

None of our political parties are perfect. It breaks my heart that there is no party that I can vote for with whole-hearted enthusiasm, as things stand. Or, at least, none which has a chance of winning an election.

It breaks my heart that we even have to talk about anti-Semitism and Islamophobia as factors in this election. Hatred, fear and mistrust of others are not acceptable in this country or in any other, as far as I’m concerned - whatever our party allegiance, whichever faith we do or don’t espouse.

But I would be failing my country, my family, my community and all who fought hard for my right to vote, if I didn’t cast my ballot today. So I’ll be voting for the NHS, for public services, for education, for the environment, for diversity and inclusion, for the next generation, for care for the older generation, for a future as part of the wider world. Not for austerity, blame, fear, the destruction of the NHS, the selling off of all that we should hold dear for the benefit of the few. Not for isolationism and Little England.

We rise by lifting others. Not by fearing them.


Today’s tune is Jez Lowe’s ‘Hands Feet’ as sung by The Young ‘Uns https://youtube.com/watch?v=tGRVRy4uEBI

“I’ve got hands to make folks happy
I’ve got feet so I can be free
And the mouths of the mob can mutter
But they’re not speaking for me.
They’re not speaking for me!”

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.