Folkie Booknerd

By Folkiebooknerd

It’s been a lang time comin’ (aka auld lang syne)

December is never my best month. I typically run out of energy and brain space by the end of November and have to hold on for the holidays by the skin of my teeth. This year - like everyone else, I’m sure - I’ve felt even more weary and befuddled than usual! Work has been busy and we currently have about 25% of our workforce off sick or about to leave. I’m missing family and friends too. But I also have much to be grateful for and much to celebrate as this awful year crawls to a conclusion - and I try never to lose sight of that.

My photography mojo has been somewhat missing in action recently but my love of books, and of music, has helped to carry me through; and my accidental album cover tribute series has been a source of much enjoyment over the last few months. Thanks to everyone who’s encouraged me with this little project!

Today’s dodgy re-creation is of the wonderful k.d. lang’s 2011 album ‘Sing it Loud’, which she made with The Siss Boom Bang. The original album cover photo was taken by James Minchin III https://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Sing_It_Loud_(album)

From the album, here’s ‘I Confess’ www.nonesuch.com/media/videos/kd-lang-siss-boom-bang-i-confess

It seems hard to believe now, but it was only 18 months or so ago that I blipped the ‘actual’ k.d. lang, when she was in town to mark the 25th anniversary of her classic album ‘Ingénue’ www.blipfoto.com/entry/2601133426874518532

How times have changed since then, eh?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.