Folkie Booknerd

By Folkiebooknerd

Smile

After weeks of life in Tier 3, followed by the second lockdown, I’ve got used to barely going out into the big wide world. Even now we’ve made it into Tier 2 in the Liverpool City Region I'm still avoiding Christmas shoppers and any gatherings of my fellow humans! So it was a rare treat to meet up with my dear pal Sarah today for a slap-up lunch at Lovelock’s, now that they’re able to open again and now that their fabled Christmas sandwich is back on the menu (see Extra). I had the vegan option, including sausage, stuffing, cranberry sauce, parsnip, carrot and sprouts, with gravy. 

Sarah and I have managed to see each other for a few socially distanced walks over the last few months and have supplemented those with regular video chats, but there’s nothing quite like catching up over a meal, like we used to back in the olden days! It was great to see her smile again.

So, today’s tune is ‘Smile’ by the always excellent Jayhawks. This is dedicated to Sarah and to all of you out there in Blipworld! www.youtube.com/watch?v=gS7GVC6G9qU It reminds me of the day I met the song’s writer, Gary Louris... www.blipfoto.com/entry/4589137

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.