freshphoto:a moment a day

By freshphoto

Using my loaf

Being a "good boy" and trying to get some work done today, so no waltzing through the woods at my leisure!

I was thinking of posting a picture of my washing-up, which always seems never-ending. I can't quite justify (or afford) a dishwasher for just me, and although sometimes I think of all the time owning one would save, standing at the sink does give me a chance to think without involving a keyboard or screen.

Sometimes what I think is rather random. A few months ago I bought some Linda Barker crockery from the remainder bin in my local supermarket (for those who don't remember her, first of all congratulations, and second, she was one of the hosts on those endless home improvement shows in the UK). I would never normally have entertained the idea of buying it, but at the knocked-down price it was the cheapest way to furnish my new flat's kitchen with simple tableware.

Despise is a strong word, but Linda Barker is one of those people who represents our celebrity culture perfectly - mildly talented opportunist achieves prime-time despite her incredibly annoying voice, and then presumably makes sack-loads of money peddling things with her name on. (If in some strange cosmic twist Linda, her family, friends or most importantly her lawyers are reading this, I hereby insert the word "allegedly").

As I stood washing her lovingly crafted, hand-tooled earthenware (aka bog standard plates with the words "Linda Barker" printed on the bottom), I was reminded of a Crash Test Dummies song from years ago (their only real hit was that "Mm Mm Mm Mm" song), wherein the singer laments that he will be 'outlived by that stupid thing'. I mean the plate, by the way.

When I was a kid I used to enjoy finding bits of broken crockery in the garden, and wonder about the people who had used them and how the pieces got there. The idea that long after I'm dead people may be finding bits of pot and wondering about Linda Barker was more than I could bear, and it seemed that commemorating her on Blipfoto would only serve to strengthen her bid for immortality.

So instead, here's a picture of the bread that baked quietly overnight as I slept (thankfully not dreaming of Ms B.). My mum gave me her breadmaker, as she said she was sick of making bricks, but it has rewarded me with countless tasty loaves. I wish I had the time to actually bake, but at least this way I get that delicious smell.

I embellish the bread mixes with my own whimsical additions - in today's example, I added linseeds and sesame seeds, as well as a blob of honey mustard and some pesto (did I mention I love basil?).

So, my first post about a photo of an object I have already partially consumed! In fact, by the time you find yourself reading this it may no longer exist - unlike Linda Barker's plates...


Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.