Cosy Corner

I was out early to hand in the last three remaining hats to Maggie’s along with a cheque and money from the ones sold since the weekend. I was pleased to see a basket of the ones still left for sale in the Centre.

I had just settled back on the bus back into town wondering how I was going to fill my evenings beanie free when I got a message from my elder son and a phone call from my London school friend requesting two more to be given as presents in the next 3 weeks.

I needed to buy more wool and that required a walk through parts of the New Town hitherto unfamiliar to me to get to the shop stocking Shetland wool.
I thought today’s blip of a little corner near Nelson Street was delightfully rustic considering it was yards away from a busy thoroughfare .

It was time for a coffee.
It’s not every day you have a conversation with a stranger about their headgear, but as I waited in a queue at a Costa café, I noticed the man behind me was wearing a Shetland Wool week hat. I’m beginning to be that old lady who speaks to people she doesn’t know. It’s not a known thing to do in wary-of -being -mistaken -for -an -odd -ball -Edinburgh, but I discovered he was down from Shetland to visit his daughter and it was she who had knitted the bunnet for him. My curiosity was satisfied and he was no doubt relieved to escape the cross examination.

Now I about to brave the cold and forecast wet weather to join others at the Marie Curie Hospice for Carols and the lighting of the Christmas tree.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.