Awash

Just when I thought it couldn’t be more miserable weather wise, what do you know? It was; dark and raining, with the pavements and roads awash with water. There was not an iota of Christmas cheer about as I sloshed my way into town, but as luck would have it, I met a neighbour and we had a convivial cup of coffee before I followed the water course downhill to see daughter#1 in the gallery in Dundas Street.

With the visit over, the temptation of seeing two buses chugging up the hill was too much and I decided to quit beating the elements and get a lift home, all in time to dry off and have a warming bowl of hot soup.

Most of the afternoon was taken up with a fight to the finish with cling film for baking and sellotape and wrapping paper for presents. I hate wrapping presents and it was always delegated to His Lordship, who was wonderful at getting things neat and artistic. It turns out that David, whom I met with in the afternoon, also loves wrapping presents but seeing as he can’t come into my house at the moment, that is not the solution.

I noticed this newly decorated window in Soderberg and it saved the day as my only blip

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.