Golden moon over the Waitemata

After the best night's sleep in weeks, I woke to a full moon in a clear (but hazy) sky. As the dawn neared, and the moon became more and more strongly bathed in the golden glow of the yet to rise sun, so it became more golden.

Work today was busy and satisfying. Started with a summons to a meeting of the Mental Health Directorate leaders with the CEO. Wanting to organise a response to a media statement by a group of our workers. Wish we could get the immediacy of response and efforts to do something for what really would make a difference for the patients.

Next up was trying to resolve the never ending juggling of discharges and admissions. Followed by reading the decision of the Health and Disability Commissioner on a complaint. The decision was a full endorsement/vindication of the approach I led in the rationalisation of care for a person; basically stating categorically, that we had NOT withdrawn care, we had continued to offer best practice care, which was not what had been wanted. 

Spent the afternoon assessing patients for a colleague who had to take the day off to support a friend. All in all a day in which I felt healthier than for a couple of weeks, and received good strokes for what I have been doing in the past and now.

Time for a relaxing weekend. 

Addition 
Since I posted this I have learned that the UK has voted to return the Tories to power. Despite their abuse of power, despite the nastiness towards anyone in need. I fear for the world my grandchildren will have to live in.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.