Desperately seeking

By clickychick

Birthday Memories

It would have been mum's birthday today. I went into town and bougt alstromerias and little carnations to take to her grave. I got out a wreath we put on her grave at Christmas. It's artificial but I couldn't help but smile that mice had fancied nibbling the "berries".

The rain was as heavy as ive known it. I pre-arranged the flowers at home but, even so, we got absolutely drenched at the churchyard.

We went up to Carlisle in the afternoon to buy a poinsettia, I always buy one for mum's birthday, even now. I refuse to buy them from the local supermarkets as they display them in front of draughty doorways. Not good for them.

Returning home by the back road to get shelter from the hedges from the strong wind, we found lots of flooded areas. Then we came across a car turned onto it's roof.

Out again in the evening and the events of the day caused me to forget to ring my only cousin on her birthday. I've been so distracted lately, I even forgot to send her a card!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.