Friday 13th

An unlucky day indeed. At the start of the year I said on Blip that I felt 2019 would not be a good year (except, of course, for Emma's weddings which were the real high-point). Unfortunately that has come true with a proliferation of bad news throughout the year accumulating in the election of Boris in yesterday's election. The old adage 'be careful what you wish for' comes to mind.

I had decided to stay up and watch the results but on the announcement of the Exit Poll and the recount at Blyth Valley I felt so depressed I went to bed.  I feel that Exit Polls are a bit of a spoiler, why sit through hours of results when you know the outcome?

I woke up a couple of times during the night to check the results, the forecast was coming true.

To cheer ourselves up a little we took off for Packwood House to have a drink and look at their Christmas decorations in the house. After a sandwich lunch it was back to town for a blood test and a visit to a customer with a printer problem. At least it took my mind of the election for a while!

The picture shows Ann warming herself in front of the welcoming log fire in the entrance hall of Packwood.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.