Hobbs's Run

By hobbs

Coming Ready or Not

I have to admit that this is a sobering sight - even for someone who has lived through as many bushfire summers as myself. Here I am looking north east along Hat Hill Road in Blackheath. What we see is a fire near Mt Wilson which is the other side of the Grose Valley. That thing is basically headed our way.

In the extras are two images that I was able to shoot earlier in the Megalong Valley - the OTHER side of Blackheath. We see the local "Ruined Castle" fire has now crossed over Narrow Neck Ridge, while the huge blaze in the relative distance is the northern extremity of the Lake Burragorang fire. I can no longer get access to the vantage point that I previously shot from. The road is closed.

I am informed that the fires probably look more ominous than they might otherwise have seemed because of the intense backburning operations presently being undertaken. Either way, things don't look good. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.