I know this place

Have just recently purchased the pictured 2018 selected poems of Kathleen Jamie - and here's a favourite from within:


A Raised Beach
 
- of course , that’s what –
a plain of stones, perfectly
smooth and still
showing the same slight
ridges and troughs
as thousands of years ago
when the sea left.
- It is a sea – even grey
stones one can
walk across: not a
solitary flower, nor a single
blade of grass –
                I know this place
- all with one face
accepting of the sun
the other … Moon,
why have you turned to me
your dark side, why am I
examining these stones?
Our friendship lapsed.
- And sea, dear mother,
retreating with long stealth
though I lie awake –
Ah, you’re a grown-up now
I’ve sung to you
quite long enough.

---

Kathleen Jamie (1962 - )

---

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.