Border Tails

By Swannie

This afternoon’s view.

For the first time in over twenty years, I was able to give blood today. I gave regularly until my late twenties when I developed a form of sarcoidosis which lead to seventeen years on steroids. I enquired about donating five years ago, but was told I needed to have been off the steroids for six years. This was the first time that the Blood Transfusion Service have visited Galshiels since that date. I almost was declined because of my tattoo, but it is over the four month threshold since I got it done. My picture is the ceiling in the Volunteer Hall, taken as I was lying on the bed waiting for the nurse to stick a needle in me.

The other news from this weekend is that I passed my test yesterday and I am now a member of the Institute of Advanced Drivers!

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.