The Edge of the Wold

By gladders

First snow

There was a little overnight snow on Arnside Knott last night, and much more on the higher fells to the north and east. After it fell the sky had cleared, and the snow had frosted to a hard crunchy. Gus still loves a morning walk in the snow, stopping every so often to take little mouthfuls of it.

Usually we have an early Sunday morning to ourselves, but the runners were out in force today, and there was an annoying group of four men who stopped at the trig point (just out of sight), loudly talking and laughing. Predictably there were no deer to be seen when I got up there, just dainty hoof marks in the snow. Perhaps I was simply in a grumpy mood, but it did somehow mar what should have been a beautiful morning as the sun rose above the clouded horizon.

Then it was back home to bake my latest sourdough loaf, this one a sort of granary, and after 16 hours "proving" overnight, definitely the best yet. There is now another one proving for tomorrow morning, as I try and increase production to give us a surfeit that we take with us when visiting at Christmas.

ps I'm keeping this journal a GE free zone - just mentioning it here in the aftermath of last Thursday to give me a reference when I look back in years hence.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.