Not fitting the Bill

I took the good advice the wonderful Leigh gave me last night and was more shameless in reaching out to other colleagues for help, especially on a current report that’s a bit of a head-scratcher. That lifted some of the load.

A colleague I knew in Liberia, Bill, sent me an acceptance letter he’d received for a masters course in the Netherlands, which is excellent news for him. He said ‘I was admitted to Wageningen University but I need your help for this dream to be a reality’ and ‘I really need your help in terms of connecting me to lots of scholarship opportunities that will make this to be a reality, Rob’.

No pressure, Bill. I’ve got precisely zero experience in scholarship funding. However I linked him with other colleagues who might know more and I can help review letters even if I don’t know where the dosh is going to come from.

During my Portuguese lesson we had to scrutinise a statement in the textbook that claimed it is illegal to sell drugs in Portugal. Vivid recollections of being accosted on every street corner attest otherwise. When we weren’t analysing the accuracy of the examples, I was leaping up to spray peach air freshener in the kitchen, from which the pong of a wet dog has started to emanate.

I saw these house crows loitering on a stinky bin. I do a lot of crowing, don’t I.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.