Hobbs's Run

By hobbs

Looking into the Megalong

From our point of view, today was pretty uneventful. The air was still and the conditions cool. We could hear lots of sirens as fire trucks and emergency services kept whizzing past, back and forth, along the highway to our west. It is now quite apparent (especially from isbi's journal) that the Megalong Valley is seriously on fire.

Toward dusk I took myself out to the Rotary Lookout at Blackheath which enables one to peer way off into the deep Megalong (see above). Thick smoke prevented me seeing terribly far of course.

I popped over to Medlow Bath for a different view (first extra). I could see smoky, albeit tranquil scenes, below. Curiosity finally got the better of me and so I plunged into the valley itself, along a completely empty road, wondering all the while how far I'd be allowed to go. I finally got as far as the RFS station, which (apart from many vehicles strewn about) seemed quite deserted. (see extra 2)

I toyed with the idea of driving on but that would have taken me much further into the valley, past isbi's farm and close to the fire front itself. I figured I'd just be a nuisance and so, as it was getting dark anyway, I retreated back to Blackheath.  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.