Webcam

Join together these snippets and you'll be caught up with where I'm at.

- I use two screens, the larger one is above the laptop so my screens are stacked

- We use Skype for Business for our telephony and that offers video calling

- I do online tutorials which also offers video

- My webcam is part of the laptop, it's embedded in the bezel above the laptop screen

From the above you might see my thinking in purchasing a new webcam. Using the in-built one meant that any video showed the view up my nostrils as I look at the larger screen, the one on top. I now have one which sits on top of the upper screen, a far more sympathetic angle for those who feel that they have to see me (I only turn on my webcam when I have to). 

I remember when webcams were first commercially available - they cost an eye-watering amount of wonga. This one cost £3.50, the postage from China cost £2 so just over a fiver all up and it includes a microphone. I'm not expecting high definition for that but it works and that's as much as is needed. You can see unedited output in the extras.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.