Julesey's

By Julesey

Lunch at last ....

The picture belies the exciting day I had getting here! I decided to go up Hay Bluff for a change as I usually go onto the Begwyns. Road was fine until nearly there and then the road ( by now 1 in 4 - 1 in 3 ish) went out of sunlight and turned into sheet ice. Despite having a 4x4 yhe wheels all span and the car slid towards the barrier which protects you from a 30-40 foot drop. I was terrified. Car bashed into barrier and stopped. I then tried ( and failed ) to go up a bit just to get off barrier and slid back again this time into the bank modifying the other side of my bumper too - but less scary as no drop. By this time I had a dry mouth , a thumping heart , two barking dogs and no mobile signal. Totally blocking the road. Two young lads came up the road and saw me blocking it! They went back to their van and got a shovel and some grit. Another Toyota Land Cruiser appeared above me and between the 3 guys they spaded, gritted and talked me down the icy road in reverse til I got to a passing place and could turn round. I am SO grateful to them. Pride and bumper dented I returned to Hay. However, the whole thing would have been pointless had I not taken photos. So I went to the Begwyns as usual ( much better road) and here is a shot of my lunch at 3.30 just as I was losing the sun looking over the dratted and snowy Hay Bluff.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.