Wound up in Wexford

By Neatwithice

Preparing to go away

I know I'm not the first, and I certainly won't be the last, but flying with a cast on one's wrist involves a certain amount of preparation.

At my clinic appointment last week, having had a new cast, the plaster technician split it lengthways, so that if the wrist swells during the flight, I can split the tape holding it together, and allow some space.  But I forgot to ask the doctor in clinic for a letter to say I was fit to fly.

Today, I popped in to my old workplace, and one of my colleagues very kindly supplied the necessary letter (three copies, for three flights).  I also cadged a couple of rolls of tape to hold the plastic bag on my arm when showering.

We've also been discussing the practical considerations involved with luggage, and making some decisions regarding what we carry (note the application of the royal "We" there!)

We had talked of a trip up to Pensthorpe today, but woke to pouring rain, so cancelled that idea.  This evening I tried to do some cross stitch, but had to give up that idea after only a few stitches.  All in all - I'm thoroughly fed up of this flipping injury, and it's not even half way through the immobilisation period yet!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.