wander, stumble, wonder

By imo_weg

SNOW!

It's causing mayhem, delays and much concern among people trying to get anywhere at all, but that doesn't mean it isn't fun. Last night we had a big fall (is that the correct terminology?), and the world went into that beautiful hush as cars stayed off the roads and people calmed down. I love that peace that falls with snow. I was in the gym doing a body balance class (tai chi, pilates, yoga), watching out the full length windows and the snow just kept coming down outside. It was the perfect accompaniment.

Today I rode my bike to uni for the first time, hoping to get it checked over by the bike guy on campus. He couldn't fit me in today, so I locked it up and went off to the library. At about 1pm I was watching the snow clouds come across again, turning the bluey sunny sky faintly orangey-greyey, then it just started to come down. It doesn't pour, or pound, or drench. What is the verb for a lot of snow falling? I moved to another study area (my favourite, with the radiators under the desks) and could see it re-covering what had been de-snowed by students the night before. A facebook message went around - who wants to come and play in the snow? Me! Me! So I met up with Juliette and we went for a lazy walk through the woods and around the lake, before finally ending up with hot chocolates in the nice warm of campus.

Some days I really love this uni.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.