Chile in the garden

A rather damp day today, drizzly and rather chilly. Talking of Chile, which I wasn't really, I thought I'd Blip one of my favourite ferns, Blechnum magellanicum, from the higher latitudes of that country, or further south at least. 

While paying a short visit to that long country in 2005, my fellow gardeners and I saw acres of this fern growing along the road verges just as male or lady ferns do here. I'm told that in some areas they grow a trunk up to 1.5 high, but that's something I've never seen. Maybe one day many, many years hence someone passing my garden might notice this species on a tall trunk - as long as they don't confuse it with my real tree fern, Dicksonia antarctica, which has a trunk about that tall already, or Lophosoria quadripinnata, which apparently can also grow a trunk! Now I'm just trying to blind you with Latin names!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.