Quod oculus meus videt

By GrahamColling

Christmas Crackers

You might guess who took the photograph for yesterday's Blip Central post (Yes they were also Christmas crackers).

A quiet day, which started with a quick trip to the supermarket and then upgrading the Mac to the latest operating system, Catalina.  All seems to have gone well, no issues so far (other than for those 32bit applications I knew would no longer work).  In the main I have either been able to upgrade them or find an alternative.  It was surprising that some 32 bit applications I used regularly have not been upgraded for quite a few years and so I had to find an alternative.  Thankfully Apple have been advising developers for some time of the change, so most have upgraded to 64bit well ahead of the change.

One thing that had given me some cause for concern was that I was still getting a warning when I used my Microsoft applications (e.g. Word, Excel, etc) but checks before hand and I was sure my current versions were compatible.  And so they proved.

Despite the preparations, I have been surprised by the change to iTunes, now separated into Music and TV.  I've still to check that it allows me to airplay with my Apple TV as we have a large library of films we dip into from time to time.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.