I'll go t'foot of our stairs

The operative word here, being 'our'.   These stairs belong to us - along with the rest of the house - now bought and paid for.  

Yesterday was a long, stressful day.  I had a hospital appointment in the morning.  On our way, we had to dash into the solicitors' office in Central Milton Keynes to sign some papers regarding the completion of the house. 

Anniemay drops me off at the hospital and then dashes off on an urgent mission for Chris, while I wait to have a camera shoved down my throat.  I had wondered about taking a selfie on my phone for my blip while this was happening, but truth be told - I have not yet worked out how to take selfies. Except by accident.

Anniemay picks me up and we make our way home.  Not long after we get in, there's another call from the solicitor and another form to sign.  We dash back and make our marks. 

We do all this running around because if we don't complete on the purchase by end of business today, it won't happen until January.  To add to the complication, the solicitor dealing with our purchase is based in their Northampton Office - but they have a branch in CMK and can ping the paperwork through, saving us a trip up the Motorway.

Eventually there's another call - the wrong forms were sent through - so can we go back and sign the correct ones.

We get a call from the developer asking what's going on.  We get a similar call from the estate agent who sold us the house.  It appears that the developer's solicitor and ours are having a spat, each blaming the other for having the wrong paperwork.

We head over to the house and sit in a nearby cafe waiting for the call that lets us know if we can pick up the keys.  Or not.  Finally, just before close of business, we get the go ahead.  

It's only today that it all sinks in.  We go to the house and have a quick look around; no builders, no noise, just us.

Phew.  And a of bottle of fizz tonight.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.