Burning of the Clocks

We’ve had a day at home today, packing and getting ready for our Christmas trip up north, but I needed to nip to the butchers and also drop a few cards off, so Alan drove me and parked up while I did what I needed to do.

Then tonight I met up with my Skies friends for a Christmas drink before going to watch the Burning of the Clocks parade, which is a yearly tradition to celebrate the winter solstice. Sadly, the weather was atrocious - it was absolutely pouring down and there were strong winds, so the bonfire and firework display was cancelled, but the parade went ahead. We got absolutely soaked, and felt so sorry for those taking part. It was impossible to use a camera, but the iPhone being waterproof worked wonders and I put it on the selfie stick so I could hold it higher, due to the restrictions of my shoulder.

After the parade we went back to the pub for another drink before heading home. I caught the bus, Alan picked me up and I was home by 8pm, soaked right through to my pants!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.