under the greenwood tree

It was almost 11 last night when I set off across the fields to the spot I'd chosen for my bivvy. I didn't use a torch, just let my eyes become accustomed to the dark, which wasn't as dark as you might expect, even in the countryside on a cloudy night with no moon. I managed to reach the spot without tripping over a rock or stray branch but for some reason it didn't feel right. I walked around the fields for a bit longer, though, enjoying the quiet and the dark, before deciding to sleep a bit nearer to home, under our apple trees.

As soon as I was snug in the bivvy bag, it began to rain, so I pulled it over my head. I stayed dry all night, though I think it rained quite a bit. I woke up feeling happy that quite soon, the days will be getting longer...only by 53 seconds in the next week, but even so,  It feels like turning a corner.

The weather for the rest of the day was rather mizzly. I took this photo in the badger wood - the moss covered trees give an indication of how damp the air must be. 

This afternoon, I've enjoyed pottering around indoors - wrapping presents, reading, sewing, and speaking to Sarah on the phone for over an hour! D is making the tea tonight - trying out a new recipe for a kind of curried root vegetable stew, which sounds warming and very seasonal :-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.