Walking Wombat

By WalkingWombat

Keeping Cool

Well we were all kept a lot cooler today because I woke up to see the pavers outside were wet.  Although the rain that fell was less than 1mm, (0.2mm in fact) it did the heart good to see some moisture in the air.  I was very happy to see this Crimson Rosella making the most of the bird bowl this afternoon.  I'm just going down shortly to make sure they're full to the brim for the morning visitors.

I apologise if my journal seems preoccupied with the fires in the Blue Mountains at the moment, but honestly it's hard to escape what's going on here.  So many of my friends have evacuated from the mountains and the ones that have stayed are all anxiously watching the progress of the monster fires.  I called into the Fire Station again this morning to get an update and see if there was anything they needed.  I smiled when the deputy Fire Captain Ross told me on the quiet that what they needed was toilet paper.  They had food coming out of their ears, but definitely toilet rolls were needed.  Plus the small milk containers that you find in your mini-bars in hotel rooms.  He told me that they often want to have a cup of tea or coffee when they get a moment when they can take a break from fighting the fires and the little containers are perfect to have on board the fire trucks.  Who would have thought!!  Well that was an easy fix and I was happy to oblige.  It was the least I could do.

They started a big Back Burn tonight in an area of Blackheath known as Braeside.  The object of the back burns is to put a containment line between houses at risk and the main fire.  There is always an enormous risk when they do this and sometimes things don't work out as planned.  Let's hope on this occasion all is well.  

Tomorrow is Christmas Eve and I have to confess to feeling very sad.  This should be a time of family gatherings and great joy, but perhaps this year will be the exception.  We just have to stay strong in our resolve and get through the ordeal that is on our doorstep.  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.