Walking Wombat

By WalkingWombat

Where's Wombat??

Well I tell you where I will be from now on - in my Christmas present to myself about two metres away from those wonderful little feathered creatures that come every day to the bird bowls.  Thanks to a great tip from dbifulco (bird photographer guru) I bought myself a "Hide" for Christmas.  The beauty of it is that it folds up into a very nice tidy circle and can be easily transported.  It's basically a mini pop up tent.  Those little birds won't see me coming.

My daily trip to the Shipley Rural Fire Brigade Shed convinced me that I will be better to stay close to home tomorrow.  The massive back burns that have will be taking place right along the back of the northern side of the villages down the entire length of the Blue Mountains to Penrith could mean that at any time I could be cut off from being able to get home.  That would cause me great distress.  I'm going to head into Blackheath about 11.00am and help my good friend Bob and his daughter Cathy at the "Kinship at Christmas" lunch that has been held at the Community Hall for the past 20 years.  Basically as I understand it, anyone can just turn up and be served a delicious Christmas lunch with all the trimmings.  There are many elderly people in Blackheath and those less fortunate than us that look forward to this every year.  I told Bob I'll do my best to "work the room" for him and chat to as many people as I can.  It will be a very different but very meaningful Christmas Day after all.  I'm sure it will take our minds off the dreadful fire situation for a short while and that's a good thing.

Here's wishing all of my blip buddies around the world a very happy Christmas and a heartfelt thank you from this wombat who enjoys your friendship enormously.  A big Christmas hug from me to you :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.