Carol’s Christmas Cake

My sister-in-law Carol has created a quite a task for herself over the years.  I believe this is about year number 10 when she has produced Christmas Cakes for her family and close friends.  I now have a wonderful collection of Christmas Cake tins and I look forward every year to receiving it in the mail.  I have to say this year’s cake is an absolute cracker and I took it with to Sydney this morning so that I could share it with my good friends Carol and Lucille.

Yes my well laid change of plans not to go to Sydney and have Christmas with my friends and stay close to home in Blackheath were changed once again when I woke this morning.  A tough start to the day for me as reality hit home like a sledge hammer.  It was very strange not having my darling CCN with me to celebrate Christmas with.  

The main reason I had decided not to go to Sydney was the fact that I thought the Bells Line of Road would still be closed.  If through some quirk of fate one of the back burns got away and they had to close the Great Western Highway as well, I would have no way of getting myself back to Wombat Hollow.  That would have cased me great distress.  The good news is they opened Bells Line of Road last night and that’s a great relief to many people.  I felt really comforted knowing there would be a way home and so I decided that I would delay my visit to the Kinship Christmas until another year.  I had a very happy day in the end with two great friends and I know they were pleased that I had made the effort to drive to Sydney to join them.  There is nothing quite like being with friends and family at Christmas time, particularly when you have recently lost someone very dear to you.  

Even though it was Christmas Day the Rural Fire Service Volunteers couldn’t afford to take the day off and they spent their day working to contain the fires around Mt Victoria in this part of the world.  I just can’t imagine the state we would be in without their heroic effort over the past few weeks.  I hope all of my blip buddies and their families have had a wonderful day full of laughter and happiness.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.