Lulu05star

By Lulu05star

A pink surprise

A different day here today. Cool!!!! What a relief after yesterday. It drizzled for a good part of the day but there were a few breaks in the rain when I could get out with my camera. Nothing inspiring at midday but this afternoon was surprised to come across this pink flower which I haven't seen before, nicely lit by the 5 minutes of sunshine we had. Meant to be.

I have had this "holiday" house for 2 years now and I love that I often find something in the garden that I haven't seen before, even though I spend hours out in it. Doesn't matter what season it is there is always something flowering. Some plants flower for an extended period, other just for a day or two.

I wrote "holiday" house because it is like a "working holiday". I am retired and live in a terraced house in Perth where there is only a small courtyard for me to attend to. Here there is 1000 sqm of garden which needs pruning, feeding, watering, weeding. It would not be a "holiday" for someone who is working and has a garden at home to look after...this would be too much like work. (picking up stones to carry rocks ...as the saying goes). But for me it is perfect. The exercise re-energises me and the garden and nature is good for the soul.

This morning I was too slow to photograph the red-winged fairy wrens (male and female) ...they only stay for such a short time. This afternoon I was too slow to get the Western Spinebill. Very frustrating and I think I need to develop a plan. They seem to return to the same areas of the yard around the same time (well they have for the last couple of days) and so I should set myself up and wait for them.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.