Mistletoe Mishap

Felt all festive this morning and put some mistletoe up above the hall door at home. The mistletoe was given to me by my (nice) neighbour who was spreading Christmas joy.

Frantic day followed getting chores done and packing. Felt totally frazzled by the time I arrived at St Nicolas Church in Sevenoaks for the Nine Lessons Carol Service this evening.

As is now tradition (past 7 years) my friend’s hubby played the organ while the regular organist conducted the choir. He totally rocked the fanfare finale and got a round of applause. Fab meal out afterwards and we made plans to go out and party soon.

As I drove down to Sussex late evening I couldn’t understand why my face and neck were so itchy. By the time I arrived at my parents’ house I’d come out in hives and had red blotches all over my face and neck.

Turns out mistletoe is poisonous. Did you know that? Dosed up on antihistamine and went to bed feeling very bah humbug.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.