Last chance?

A day for final shopping. For the first time in years I managed into Jenners at Christmas time. This might be the last year of the famous tree. Sadly I did not hear any sounds of birds tweeting, which I recall from my youth. It may be that I’m now too deaf. And I do recall the lights being coloured.

In any event still an impressive sight. Hopefully with some doubt over the store’s closure it may not be lost forever.

I felt my age with young people in their 20s shopping there; couples in their 30s and those with families. It’s a shame the store seems set for closure.

After finalising the shopping, I went to the church for the annual Christingle service. I had not realised that the long-standing German tradition had been introduced first to England in 1968!

It was a lovely service - see extras - with hot chocolate and marshmallows afterwards.

Home in time to see episode 2 of a Christmas Carol. While very good, the gloomy mood took the edge of the Christmas feel generated by the service.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.