The High Street in Minchinhampton

While there was a quiet time at the market in Minchinhampton I escaped to walk down the High Street to post a book to a friend. When I left the Post Office I thought I'd grab a picture of this small Cotswold town's varied frontages.

The rain began within a few seconds of taking this picture and I scooted back to the 16th century Market House up this street and just out of view. Last time I walked along this stretch I watched the highland cows climbing up the hill and heading towards the church. One of Minchinhampton's most distinctive features is the fact that the Commoners' animals have free range around the streets as well as on their more usual habitat, the natural grassland of the surrounding Minchinhampton Common now maintained by the National Trust. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.