"MY NAME IS MAUREEN.....

.....and I’m a chocoholic!!" It’s amazing how my friends know me so well. A package arrived yesterday but got buried underneath all the Christmas, birthday and sympathy cards - until this morning, when I found and opened it.  I have just looked on the back of the card and realise it says "To John and Maureen....." Ah well, I'm sure Mr. HCB will enjoy some of it - if he gets to it before me!

What a delightful surprise from two lovely friends and there is even a large bar in my favourite colour that will match my pink robe!  Just as a matter of interest, the "Best before" dates on the chocolate vary from May 2020 to April 2021 so I we have plenty of time to eat it but it will certainly carry me us through this difficult time, along with all the kind thoughts, good wishes and prayers from so many wonderful people all over the world. My family and I appreciate all your kindness at this sad time - but we aren’t the only ones who are feeling bereft at this special time of year. Many others will be missing loved ones they have lost so we think of them too. 

I popped over to Mum’s and had a “moment” when I went up the stairs to her flat.  It was so quiet and when I looked into her bedroom, I saw the prayer books she used every morning and tears came to my eyes.  When Karen, my sister, came over a few minutes later, and I told her I’d had a few tears, she said she was pleased that I had “let go” at last.    

On checking the medical certificate I had picked up from Mum’s GP yesterday, and collecting the various documents together, my legal training kicked in and I noticed that the doctor hadn’t signed the form, so had to go back this morning to get his signature.  When I met him, he was very upset, but I told him these things happen, and fortunately, I still had time to go to the Registrar and get the Death Certificate and other documents.  

There is a service provided by the Government called “Tell us Once” whereby various departments are informed of a death by completing a single form online, which obviously saves a lot of time.  When I mentioned this to the Registrar, I called it “Send to All” and if any of you watch Michael McIntyre’s programme on a Saturday evening you will know that he takes someone’s mobile phone and sends an amusing text to all the names in the person’s contact list, so calling the service by a similar but wrong name was quite funny and made us all laugh.  

My extra photograph is of my niece, Jolene, standing outside Mum’s flat with her three lovely dogs - I think they might be blipped more than once!

Under Door 24 - the last one- of our Advent of Change Advent Calendar (no Door for Christmas Day!) for the Independent Age Charity it says, “Today you have helped make a phone call to an older person this Christmas, providing them with conversation and friendship."  Mr. HCB and I are thankful that we have family and friends around us at this time, but many don't - so perhaps we could spare a thought for them this Christmas.

“Christmas - 
     be the Light for those 
          who stand in the dark.” 
Sir Kristian Goldmund Aumann - 
24 Days Until Christmas: 24 Christmas Poems

P.S.  Thank you for your kind comments and stars for yesterday's Blip - all of which are much appreciated.  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.