ABSTRACT THURSDAY - FESTIVE LIGHTS

When I saw the theme for today’s challenge, I had visions of going out after dark this evening to look at the festive lights that people have put up outside their homes, but then I decided that perhaps it might be better just to do an indoor shot in our own home.

We bought these lights many years ago and they hang in our hallway, at the bottom of the stairs - there are five of them, but I rather liked this shot of just two and it does look quite abstract, so fits the challenge for today.  

I have lost count of the number of times either Mr. HCB or a visitor to our home have banged their heads on these glass crystal lights, as they hang down at different levels and are quite heavy, but no-one has been knocked out - yet!

As it is a beautiful sunny day, I went for a walk, but decided that my field might be a tad boggy, so just stayed on the paths around where we live.  It was good to go out though even if just for a short time, but I did get quite cold.  When I got back, Mr. HCB was cleaning out the bird feeders ready to give our feathered friends their Christmas treats, so a hot cup of coffee was soon made and enjoyed.

I still can’t believe it’s Christmas Eve - it no sooner seems the 1st December is here then all of a sudden, it’s the 24th and time to think about what we need to do for tomorrow’s meal.  We are hoping it will be a sunny day tomorrow so that we can go out for a walk between the main course and Christmas Pudding - and as we have both said, the bonus of being in our own home is that we can both have a drink.  

A relative of Mr. HCB’s, who lives in Portland, sent his good wishes with a link to this song, which we really enjoyed - so here it is for you to enjoy too, "Little Drummer Boy". 

Things that brought me joy today:

Seeing the sunshine and being able to go out for a walk 

Knowing we are so blessed to have a warm home and plenty of food

This joy is to come, but I know I will enjoy it - listening to Carols from Kings College, Cambridge - then we know that Christmas really is here.

Mr. HCB and I hope you have a wonderful Christmas, whatever you do - may you and your families be blessed and stay well.

"God grant you 
the light in Christmas, 
     which is faith;
the warmth of Christmas, 
     which is love; 
the radiance of Christmas, 
     which is purity; 
the righteousness of Christmas, 
     which is justice; 
the belief in Christmas, 
     which is truth; 
the all of Christmas, 
     which is Christ."
Wilda English

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.