HAPPY CHRISTMAS FROM THE HCBs

Well, Christmas Eve has arrived and hopefully, most of what needs to be done has been done.  I popped out to Tesco’s this morning very early - while it was still dark, looking for something particular - sadly they didn’t have what I wanted - but I can manage without it.  

During Advent, along with quite a number of others, including some Blip friends, we have been reading through the gospel of Luke, which has 24 chapters, so one chapter a day for all the days of Advent.  This has been done via a WhatsApp group, and those taking part have shared their thoughts on various parts of this as we have gone through.  It has been such a worthwhile experience, and I have learned a lot from the others in the group and how they have interpreted the message of “Dr. Luke”.  

One verse that stood out for me was from The Message version, chapter 21 and verse 35 which said: “Be on your guard.  Don’t let the sharp edge of your expectation get dulled by parties and drinking and shopping.”  Quite good advice for the present season, I thought.  

Both Mr. HCB and I hope you all have a wonderful Christmas and a Happy and Healthy New Year - we have been through difficult times, and as I said on my FB page this morning, “Remember...your most precious gifts are not under the tree!”  

I love this quote and it bears repeating to remind ourselves of this:

“Want to keep Christ in Christmas? 
Feed the hungry, 
     clothe the naked, 
          forgive the guilty, 
welcome the unwanted, 
     care for the ill, 
          love your enemies, 
and do unto others 
     as you would have done 
          unto you.”
Steve Maraboli

P.S.  Apologies for not commenting much yesterday, I had issues uploading and then had to delete and upload again, so it was very late before I saw most of your comments, but they were all much appreciated.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.