ABSTRACT THURSDAY

The sky today is grey and leaden so what better to do than to have a fartnarkle to make a shot for Abstract Thursday - well it certainly beats doing housework, and as we are the only two who will be here on Christmas Day, no-one is going to complain about the dust!  Having said that, while I was at the hospital yesterday, Mr. HCB, bless him, Dysoned the whole house - which was great.  In the New Year, we will be doing a lot of sorting out of “stuff”, so perhaps it’s just as well that we are not buying one another more of it for Christmas.

This is my Amaryllis, which now has two beautiful flowers on it - and as I said, I have done a little fartnarkling using my iColorama app - we both rather liked this one so I have put a frame on it, using my Carbon app and here it is.   Not quite the brief for AT, but I’m happy with it and I have put the original in as an extra.   

Special thanks to Amanda and Sean for this lovely plant - I wonder if it will bloom again next year.  Mr. HCB’s mother had green fingers as far as hers were concerned - she often had two of them that she kept from year to year, so I will do my best to nurture it and will read up on what to do once the blooms have died off.

My sister, Karen, is coming round at lunchtime for a quick sandwich, so it will be good to see her.  No doubt we will chat about Mum and her son, Dean, who sadly died in April 2019, as Christmas is always a difficult time for those who have lost a loved one and it’s good to talk about them and to share memories.

Each evening at 9.30 Mr. HCB and I listen to Advent Nite Prayers on Facebook led by Malcolm Duncan from Dundonald Elim Church - it’s just a ten minute slot - with a prayer, a thought and a song, but it is very uplifting - so whatever we are doing at that time, we stop and listen.  Here is a quote by him, which I like:

May your spirit be stilled.
When your heart
     is broken by grief
          and you feel that your soul
has been torn
     by the pain of loss,
          may God your comfort
and your strength
     breathe courage
          and resilience into you.
You do not face
     these days alone.
          God is still there.
Malcolm Duncan


P.S.  Along with many others, had a great deal of trouble uploading this - so I deleted it and put it up again.  Hope it works this time!  I think there must be a lot of activity in the sky at the moment - wonder if Santa is causing some issues?  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.