A WONDERFUL START TO THE DAY

I was up early this morning - more about that later - but I needed to do a lateral flow test before a hospital appointment, so was downstairs again before 6 o’clock.  The test done and thankfully negative, I went back upstairs to have my shower and opened the bedroom curtains, to be greeted by a wonderful sunrise - as you may remember, early mornings are not really my thing - but it was such a treat to see the sky glowing with various shades of red  - top left of my collage.

Having had my shower, I went back into the bedroom and the sky had changed and was much lighter, but was just as beautiful;  in fact, I stood at the window marvelling at the beauty of it.

I was also remembering my Mum, who died two years ago today on 22nd December 2019 - we can’t believe that two years have gone by, but she is still loved and remembered and despite reaching a good age, she wanted to live long enough to get that special Telegram from the Queen, which sadly didn't happen.  However, in 2024, on 25th January, we will be celebrating her 100th birthday in style!

Mum was quite a superstitious lady - unlike me, who will walk under any ladder and spill salt without throwing any of it over my shoulder - so if ever knives are crossed, or new shoes are put on a table, I hear my Mum’s voice saying “Uncross those knives” or “Get those shoes off the table” and there were many other superstitions too, including putting a coin in any purse Mum was giving as a present. I suppose they originate somewhere and perhaps for very good reasons, but things like that don't bother me. 

Mum always enjoyed baking and her pastry and Christmas cakes especially, were legendary - I guess years ago, and she was 95 when she died - the shop cakes weren’t mass-produced like they are now, so most people baked their own, but I have to say my pastry was never as good as hers, although I have the recipe for her Christmas cake and it usually turns out well.  I think her secret was “feeding it” with plenty of spirits!

The photograph in the middle of the collage was taken on her 90th birthday, wearing her favourite purple coat - I obviously got my love of “all things purple” from her.

The orchid, which is a sort of mauvy/pink was given to me for my birthday, which is on Sunday, by a friend when she came to visit last week and as Mum loved flowers, thought this would be a good addition to the collage.

The last shot at the bottom left is a view upwards from the reception area at our local hospital. A volunteer, standing by reception, asked why I was taking a photograph, so I told her about Blip - well you know me!  She thought it was a great idea to take a photograph every day as a record of what you had been doing.

Having been for my mammogram on the 9th December I received a letter from the hospital last Saturday to say that I needed to attend for a “further assessment and tests” before I could be given the screening result.  It was quite a shock at first, but the appointment was this morning, so I didn’t have to wait for too long and I must confess, I wasn’t too worried.

Once at the hospital, the Mammographer called me in and told me why I had been asked back.  She said she would be taking more shots to include a 3D one so that the doctor could look at them in more detail.  Somehow it didn’t seem as painful as the one I had on the 9th - but perhaps that was because I knew what was going to happen!  

Then it was down the corridor with a nurse to be prepped for the ultrasound scan.  When the doctor came in, he told me that the scan was "very much like the ones you have when you are expecting a baby."  I asked if he would tell me if he could see a baby as I wasn’t quite prepared for that - to which he laughed and the nurse responded that it was a good time of year!!  The doctor did say that the mammogram was fine and that after the scan, he hoped to be able to give me a good Christmas present!

The doctor was so good and explained everything he was doing even making sure that the screen was where I could see it and he told me "what was what" as he did the scan.  Following the scan, the doctor explained that he could see nothing untoward but that if I was worried, I could go to my GP and would be quickly referred to the hospital again.  It was a huge relief to get this news, as you can imagine, and was indeed a wonderful Christmas present to be given!

I am so thankful that I requested the mammogram that I had earlier this month and would urge all ladies reading this to request one if you are over 70 and are no longer called routinely for one, so that if there any issues, or any “mischief in the breast” as the doctor described it, it can be dealt with.  I am so grateful for our wonderful NHS and to all the friends who have supported me during the last few days.  Whilst I was sitting waiting for  the ultrasound scan, I did pray for the other ladies in the waiting room and all those who would be seen at the hospital today - and as the doctor said to me “I wish I could give all my patients the same news I’ve given to you”.  

“We are all the pieces of what we remember; 
     we hold in ourselves the hopes and fears 
          of those who love us. 
As long as there is love and memory, 
     there is no true loss.”
Cassandra Clare

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.