Christmas Day in the morning

This old world never ceases to amaze me.  Things that others take for granted are still a source of wonder to me.

We go for a walk this morning while the turkey is in the oven.  Anniemay's phone rings.  It's Dan calling from India.  Just like that.  And by the miracle of the internet, the call is free.  As if he was just round the corner.  (He's not, I checked.)

I know that Christmas is a time for families and it still amazes me that even though we're not in the same room, we can still share the feeling of togetherness.

But not all families.  As we cross the canal bridge, we come across a shrine that suggests that Christmas is not always a time of fun and laughter.  (See extra).

Take nothing for granted.  Not even the internet.

Happy Christmas, one and all.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.